Saturday, March 14, 2009

My version to Olive's Ode to Insouciance

This is my version to Olive's blog. Pardon my lack of literary talent. I dont have the gift of words (Im not saying that Olive has..hehehe).

Before reading this pls refer to Olive's blog first: http://marchviolets.multiply.com/journal/item/11/Ode_to_Insouciance

Now, that you've banged your head on the wall after reading hers, here's mine.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

It was one of those rare times that I actually travelled with Olive. Well, knowing Olive's penchant for disappointing us and not to mention her insanely reluctance to leave her comfort zone (translated: in front of computer), it was a real miracle that she finally accepted our pleadings to come to Baguio with us.

Baguio, as always was nice. The weather was good and we had good company.We were invited for lunch for free but it came with a price: we had to listen to them sing in karaoke. Oh, what marvelous guests we were. We clapped and sang along. Much to the glee of our hosts, who just couldnt take a cue, and felt more encouraged to belt non-stop.

Anyway, Olive and I, like Meryll Streep and Goldie Hawn in Death Becomes Her (Im Meryll, obviously), sneaked out of the house just because we couldnt take it anymore. Of course we gave a lame excuse that lunch was so nice and we ate more than the capacity of our tiny stomachs.

We found ourselves strolling along the neighbourhood. It was a quiet one and believe it or not, I was actually enjoying our walk. And then there was this hidden path. Ever curious, Olive and I followed this narrow path leading to a private house. It did say "Private Property" (which could also translate to "Keep Out") but being stubborn and all and not that comfortable with authority and rules, we defied that sign.

Slowly, slowly we walked towards the gate and suddenly we heard a dog barking. Could it be coming from the house? We hopefully dont think so. But it was. And the dog must have sensed that intruders were coming in. The dog barked incessantly. Trying to scare us.

Olive, who just wanted to pretend that she's calm under pressure, that she's the cool one, advised me to relax and dont run and act like we are not scared. Dogs could sense that (she thinks she's a dog guru).

Anyway, for the lack of any other option, I followed Olive's advice and we slowly turned our backs from the gate and slowly retreated back to the main road.

But then we heard the barking growing louder and louder and we soon realized that the faithful canine had already gone out of the gate and was chasing us.

We were scared shitless!. We ran as fast as we could and we didnt even look back. We were so focused and determined to reach the house and get away from the attacker!

Luckily, when we almost reach the house, we heard the dog's bark from the distance. "Whew! he finally left us alone..we really did run that fast..whew!"

So, we stopped and look at that growling piece of an animal.

And we saw him. This tiny tiny hairless dog which only stands 10-12 inches meters whose bark, im sure, is worst than his bite.

Olive and I looked at each other in shock and broke into peals of laughter.

++++++++++++++++++++++++

I almost forgot this story. Thanks for reminding me ;)

Monday, February 23, 2009

UFO???

On my way to work this morning, I took some shots of the blue sky. The sky was really clear with few clouds so I wanted to take that opportunity before we really hit autumn and everything will turn gray again.

And guess what I saw when I got home to review my photos!..a UFO???? omigosh!

No editing was done to this photo except maybe the size.

Thursday, February 19, 2009

Eksena sa Divi

Isang araw namimili ako sa Divi:

Hayley patingin-tingin sa mga blouses.

Tindera: Mam, pili lang po.

Hayley: Magkano dito?

Tindera: P400 lang po, mam. May tawad pa.

Hayley: Mahal naman. May sizes pa ba kau nito?

Tindera: Mam, meron po kaming 4XL *nakangiti pa*

Hayley: (sa sarili) P@$#%$%^%^$ na tindera ito,ah

: (sa tindera) Patingin nga

Kinuha ng tindera ang blouse at sinukat ko.

Tindera: Mam, kasyang-kasya po (nakangiti na naman)

Hayley: (sa sarili) P$%%%&^^&^%^%^na talaga ito ah.

: (sa tindera) Sige na nga. Pabiling 5, ibat-ibang kulay.

********************************************************

Di na muna ako uuwi hanggat di ako pumapayat..bhuset...hmp!

*munches cadbury's chocolate*

Friday, January 02, 2009

New Year's Eve

For our third new year here in NZ, we decided to finally go to Cathedral Square for the countdown. In our first new year, Rita and I were still settling here in Christchurch. At that time, we both worked until 11 in the evening, new years' eve. We just rushed home and cooked for our media noche. Right on time, 12 midnight we finished everything and started having a feast. But we didnt have enough time to run to the square and watched the countdown. We just stood outside our flat and watched the fireworks in the sky and heard the bell tolling.

Last year, we headed to the North island, had Christmas in Wellington and celebrated New Year's Eve in Palmerston North. Being a small town, we didnt really expect too much from the countdown. Overall, it was good. Their square was jampacked with people, mostly locals and everyone was in a festive mood and eagerly waiting for the clock to strike 12.

This year, we didnt plan to go anywhere. We just stayed here in Christchurch and decided to experience the New Year's Eve here. We had dinner with friends then at 10pm we already found ourselves in Cathedral square with heaps of people, this time mostly tourists.

When we came, the band was playing celtic music. Then followed by country music. An hour before 12 midnight, a singer came up on the stage and sang popular songs. Thirty minutes to 12, surprisingly, the singer started singing slow songs.. I was shocked. This is totally uncharacteristic of a countdown program. Normally, this final thirty minutes is the time you pick up the tempo. This is the right time to send everyone dancing on their feet. But nope, he decided to sing us a lullaby. And yeah, he lulled us alright. I should have known it was an omen.

Now, the most awaited moment. The countdown. Everyone was excited. Everyone was waiting for the fireworks. And there it was..we started counting from 10...9...8...7...6...5...4...3...2..1.. woohooo!!

In the balcony of the Cathedral, a man played Aud Lang Syne with his bagpipe. We were singing along (silently) and saying happy new year (again, silently)...When he finished, the fireworks began. Streaks of red, blue, yellow lit up the sky. We were all excited and almost everyone was snapping for a good firework shot. Everyone was happily watching the display. Alas, display it was not. I was waiting for the "wow" moment, where you'd feel like the sparks will all come down on you. It didnt even elicit the familiar ohhhhs and ahhhhs that I used to hear when we watch the fireworks presentation back home. The whole shebang lasted for only one minute.

Yep, I was disappointed. And maybe some of the tourists there, as well. Tourists who came from the different sides of the world to witness the Christchurch New Year's Eve. There's nothing to witness really.

Maybe I was just expecting too much. Having seen our fireworks displays at home especially the World Pyrolympics in 2005. I must say, even the Enchanted Kingdom was much much better.

Oh well, now that I've seen it, I reckon that it would be years and years before I go and see it again.

Na-traumatize ata ako..hehehe

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Whipping Cream??? WTF

Kwento ng kasama ko sa hotel. Naiirita daw ang bossing namin dahil nakalimutan daw lagyan ng whipped cream ng isang chef namin ang isang dessert na na-order. Nangyari ito sa gabi na kung saan ay wala na ang bossing namin at nakauwi na.

Tanong ko naman sa nagkwento sa akin: 'Paano nalaman ni bossing?" (syempre in inglis yan)..

Sagot nya: "Nakatanggap sya ng email. Isang complaint daw" (at syempre in inglis pa din)

Sagot ko naman: "Yun lang?? Ini-email pa ba yang mga ganyang klaseng reklamo??"

Nagkibit-balikat na lang sya.

Yan ang kaibahan sa atin. Minsan yang mga maliliit na bagay na yan ay di na pinapalaki. Sinabi ko sa kanya (sa nagkwento) na sa trabaho ko dati, marami din kaming maliliit na kapalpakan. Marami ding maliliit na sagutan sa pagitan ng dalawang empleyado ang nagyayari. Pero sa amin ay madalas di na ito nakakarating sa bossing ko. Inaayos na namin, kami-kami lang. Ika nga ay "all's well that ends well". Kung maaayos naman ng kayo-kayo lang ay bakit pa palalakihin ang issue. Dito kase kanya-kanyang kwento sa bossing. Kung sa atin ay chu-chu ang dating, dito ay tanggap nila yun.

Ayan, pati tuloy ako ay natuto na rin. Maya-maya ang sumbong sa boss..hehe

Christmas Party

--- dito sa ibayong lugar

Humigit-kumulang na dalawang taon na kami dito ni rita. Sa makatwid ay dalawang pasko na ang pinagdaanan namin at magiging pangatlo itong darating na pasko. Sa dalawang paskong nagdaan ni minsan ay hindi ko sinubukang dumalo sa Christmas party na aming kumpanya. Wala naman akong gaanong kaibigan doon at alam ko namang puro inuman lang ang mangyayari. Maige sana kung maraming pulutan, pwede pa akong mag-tyaga sa coke. Pero di ata uso ang pulutan dito. Sagabal daw sa alak .

Ngunit ngayong taon na ito, dahil nagkaroon ako ng isa pang trabaho at isa na akong malugod na empleyado ng silid-aklatan sa aming syudad, minabuti kong saksihan ang Christmas party namin. Napag-isip ko na mababait naman ang mga kasamahan ko ngayon at masasayahin sila. At isa pa may isa pa akong kasamang Pilipina sa trabaho. Kaya kaninang hapon ay join ako sa kanila .

Nakakatuwa dahil ibang-iba ito sa kinagisnan na nating Christmas Party. Walang parlour games, walang monito-monita, walang exchange gifts, walang christmas carols, walang bonggang pagkain, walang raffles, at well, wala ngang christmas decor. Isang maliit na snowball lang ang nasa lamesa. Di mo halos maiisip na Christmas Party pala yun. Para lang syang isang pagtitipon.

Kumain lang kami at nagkwentuhan na. Ang iba eh umiinom ng wine pero dahil sa karamihan sa kanila ay magmamaneho pa ay di sila gaanong uminom. Matagal-tagal na kwentuhan din, 2 oras din ata yun. Pero sa tulad kong di mapakali na matagal na nakaupo ay parang 2 araw na yun.

Masaya rin naman ang kwentuhan kase talagang nakakatuwa ang mga kasamahan ko. Magaganda ang mga sense of humour nila. Maganda rin naman ang mga naging topic.

Pero, iba pa rin sa atin ..

Yan talaga ang na-mi-miss ko sa atin..ang mga Christmas parties..di man mabunot ang names sa major prizes, masaya naman sa games (kase madaya ako)

Oh well, ganyan talaga ang life

*hikbi*

Thursday, August 14, 2008

Much delayed reaction on snow

A month ago, I think, we finally experienced snow here in the city central. We had no idea that it will snow. Even if we did, we would probably be nonchalant about it. We were already diasppointed once and another disappointment would be too hurtful to bear. Once bitten twice shy.

It was really cold that day and being frugal as we are (well, I am..hehe..cus i pay for the electric bill) we didnt even switch the heater on. But to compensate for my "frugalness" I cooked braised lamb shank with creamy mashed potatoes and steam veggies that day. It was yum, even Rita said so (she, who has such discriminating taste).

So on with the snow story. As I was saying we had no clue that snow would be falling on that day. Until I got a call from Malou around 2pm and ecstatically (with a hint of bragging..hehe) telling me that it's snowing in Hornby. I rushed outside to check if we could even get an ioata of snow here and there it was!..Gently, the wind blows a speck of snow. Little by little we were getting snow. It was so soft as a feather and for an untrained eye they even look like ashes from Mt Pinatubo (hehe..still remember that in 1991). And within 30 minutes the ground was covered with snow. We were like children jumping with glee and enthusiasm outside our flat (luckily, our neighbours were all inside cuddled up, too uncaring and less mindful about the snow..hehe)

Some places still got luckier than we did, but it's alright. We will always remember our first experience of snow here in Christchurch :)...with lamb shanks..hehe...

Dangerously Dating Dexter

http://www.sho.com/dexter?source=m_dexter_badge"> src="http://www.sho.com/site/dexter/season2/images/downloads/dexter_blog_3.jpg" border="0" width="140" height="140" alt="Dexter">

I cant wait to see Dexter again. I've been suffering from Dexter withdrawals for weeks now and the symptoms are showing. Yes, I'm dating Dexter...dangerously. He is charming, quiet, reserved and soft-spoken. He dotes on his sister and works as a blood spatter analyst for Miami Police Force. He gets paid well and has his own boat. Dexter could be dreamy and perfect... well, at least for Rita, Lila and me.

There's a slight problem though. Only a matter of perspective. Depends on which side you are seeing things from. Well, you see..Dexter, aside from working for the cops, he also moonlights as a serial killer. But with a conscience. (have I become an enabler that Im even justifying his urges now? hmmm). Following the Code of Harry, he channeled these urges into something "constructive."

He decided that he will only kill the "bad guys." Those that get away with the law, he hunts them down, puts them into sleep and when they are awaken to he butchers them with great precision and disposes the useless limbs into the depths of Miami waters.

Dexter, based from the novel Darkly Dreaming Dexter, finished Season 2 last year and the third Season will begin this September. Cant wait to fall in love with Dexter all over again. Must remember to grab my pillows while watching though, cant bear to watch the blood all over the tv screen.

For mature audiences only. :) and pls read with discretion.

Sunday, August 10, 2008

Dexter

http://www.sho.com/dexter?source=m_dexter_badge"> src="http://www.sho.com/site/dexter/season2/images/downloads/dexter_blog_148x250_1.gif" border="0" width="148" height="250" alt="Dexter">